top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

YOUNG LADY ON A PARK BENCH -Poetry by guest author John Grey







Dear young lady

on the nearest bench to me –

I’m not responsible

for the body of the young woman

discovered this morning by a jogger

not a breadcrumb’s throw

from where we sit.


Totally eviscerated, so I heard,

but hardly a topic of conversation

of a beautiful day in the park

such as this.


You hide your fear

behind that iPad.

I conceal my innocence

in the pages of a book.


But then you shudder,

almost drop that iPad

when someone emerges from

the brush.

It’s just a cop investigating

the horrible crime.

But don’t think any less of yourself.

I shudder also.


I’m sure we both agree

that the slaughter of an innocent

in such a brutal way

and in a public place,

means no one is safe,

especially you.


And I’m not safe

from you suspecting all men.

As it should be.




___________________________________________________________

Young Lady on a Park Bench

by John Grey

Bio-John Grey is an Australian poet, US resident, recently published in Stand, Washington Square Review and Rathalla Review. Grey's latest books: Covert, Memory Outside the Head, and Guest Of Myself are available through Amazon. Grey's upcoming work found in: The McNeese Review, Santa Fe Literary Review, and Open Ceilings.






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page