top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

WHY AM I NOT ENJOYING THE JOURNEY -Reflection

Updated: Apr 11, 2023


STUCK IN MY HEAD


Why did I hate this?

What erased that hope from two years earlier?

“I’m going to Boston!” I remember screaming to my running friends as I looked at my marathon time. We had just finished the Mount. Lemon Marathon. My goal had been to do my best, and to my surprise, I had not only qualified to run in the Boston Marathon but had taken second place in my division.

"Lucky. That is the top of my bucket list," a friend said.

I trained for Boston, not knowing that in 2020, COVID-19 would make its destructive debut and halt the marathon.

“I guess I missed my chance.” I smiled, trying to block the disappointment.

I couldn't believe it when the Boston Marathon invited those who had qualified for 2020 to run for the April 2022 marathon. I had thought my opportunity had passed.

“I am going to Boston!” I could optimistically claim again and immediately resume training.

I headed to Boston with a mix of excitement and loneliness. The dreary weather had impeded my sightseeing plans and intensified my emptiness of having no one to celebrate with me.

I shoved my way into the massive sea of 30,000 runners. “I should be happier for this,” I thought, but my attention focused on my solitude.

I shuffled at the start line, readjusting my gear.

“Go!”



I sprinted out of the corral and gave it everything I had, which typically works for me, and for the first two miles, I ran at a robust pace. I blocked out the spectators as I concentrated on my goal. Around the fourth mile, I couldn’t maintain my speed, and my mood fouled as more runners passed me. I had spent essentially two years training for the event. Why wasn’t I performing at my peak?

“This sucks,” I said. “Why do I do this to myself? This isn’t fun. This is my last marathon.”

The loneliness of the trip and my slow pace boggled me even more. I had spent thousands to be there and hated it. The negativity seeping from my heart continued to slow me down.

As I slugged through the race, I finally noticed the massive celebration along the route. Over 500,000 spectators were there to watch the race. People lined the course from start to finish with barbeques, banners, and parties. I observed the other runners, who seemed to focus only on their run as I was doing. As I kept pushing forward, I made eye contact with one of the spectators on the sideline as he cheered for me. I matched his enthusiasm and threw my arm in the air. “Yeah!” I screamed.

Instantly, adrenaline burst in me and boosted my speed. I did it again, raising my arm to the next group of people, and yelled, “Yeah!” They responded in equal delight.

Joy flooded me. I loved this. Typically, social interactions are my drug. I can get high just being around enthusiastic people. Had I discovered something?

I did it again and felt phenomenal.

“Stephanie, you have been doing this all wrong. Stop focusing on the run or the speed. Just have fun."

From that point, as I ran, I played to the crowd, and they responded to me as if I was the most significant person on the course. People went crazy, and their excitement became mine.

I moved my position to run next to spectators, and before I knew it, hands flared out to me, everyone wanting to connect with a runner. I slapped as many hands as possible, and it felt like a fountain of dopamine poured into me.

“This is amazing!”



I no longer stayed locked in my hardcore determination as I allowed myself to participate in the 26.2-mile party. I took the offered treats that strangers handed me, stuffing myself with sugar and fruit. My perspective shifted as I moved out of my head and enjoyed my interactions with the crowd. I no longer hated the race.

I LOVED IT!

I ran with the energy of 500,000 strangers and never had more fun. Miles flew by without me realizing it, and before I was ready to stop, I crossed the finish line.

I had met my goal. I ran the Boston Marathon!

I learned a valuable lesson that day. I lost my potential and joy when I allowed disappointment to control me. It isn't about the finish line. It is the joy in the journey. Only when I found the good did everything change.


Joy In The Journey Quotes (n.d)


Joy In The Journey Quotes. (n.d.). Collection of top 44 famous quotes about joy in the journey. Joy In The Journey Quotes.https://www.wisefamousquotes.com/quotes-about-joy-in-the-journey/



_______________________________________________________________


Why Am I Not Enjoying the Journey

by Stephanie Daich



Comments


bottom of page