top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

WHAT TO DO IF THEY SAY YOU CAN’T -Mother Returning to School -LIFE 





THEY SAY YOU CAN’T DO THAT -Mother Returning to School -LIFE


The moment you give in to them is the moment you lose your way.

Despite those who doubted my motives, I returned to school to finish my education when I had four small kids at home. I enjoyed being a mom but missed so much of my former self. Going by Universities was an instant depression trigger, that could burrow deep within my psyche and plague me for months. I had married during spring break with every intention of getting my degree, but my journey into motherhood put that on hold, and it broke me inside.

Returning to school terrified me and created a difficult path as I balanced nursing school and family, but I was doing it! My acquisition of knowledge was a noble step in my life. I had anticipated the hard work it would take, but I wasn’t prepared for those who made me feel like a demon for going to school.

“You are needed in the home.”

“Why would you leave your kids?”

“This isn’t your place.”

What had happened to “You can be anything you want when you grow up?”

The attack of words slung my way hurt tremendously.

I am happy that I didn’t let the haters dictate my life. I reached down to the young Stephanie and said, “Keep going. You can be anything you want.”

And with perseverance, I did.

I am educated!

During all the hours of homework and clinicals, my children learned through my example that they could do hard things. My daughters saw me fight for my education. They learned the value of becoming strong women, as one has become a Marine and the other a pilot.

Don’t listen to those who want to tear you down.

Believe in yourself and go for it.

You have one life.

LIVE IT!

_____________________________

WHAT TO DO IF THEY SAY YOU CAN'T- Mother Returning to School

by Stephanie Daich













Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page