top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

THERE IS A FLOWER -Poetry by guest author Petrouchka Alexieva



I am stubborn, proud

And often rebellious,

Hard to be loved,

Even hard on myself.

 

Hiding the scratches,

Covering calluses,

Wrinkles and spots –

All my sins – You know,

 

I am not innocent.

You, come closer,

Come closer and closer

Until you see deep in my soul.

 

There there’s a flower

Waiting to blossom;

I try to protect it

From unwanted frost.



__________________________________________________________________

There is a Flower

by Petrouchka Alexieva


Petrouchka Alexieva is an anthropologist with emphases in Ethnomusicology and Balkan culture, music and its Diaspora. She was born Bulgarian, but has lived in USA for more than 25 yrs.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page