top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

THE SOUND OF A WINTER MORNING -by guest author CLS Sandoval, PhD



The cold is sharp against my face, but there’s a kind of cotton in my ear canals.  The crunch of the snow is muffled as I make my way toward the frozen lake.  The cabins nestled in their snowbanks billow smoke from the fires their tenants are stoking.  Typically, I would rather stay inside, cuddled with my warm blanket by my own fire, but the lake should be frozen enough for a skate, and how my calves long for a skate.  It’s isolated enough up here that I hear birds flapping, rabbits hopping, and the occasional neighbor opening their door or window most of the year.  But in the snowy winters, I hear nothing other than the slow sink of boots into the snow and the sound of my own breath.





____________________________________________________________________

The Sound of a Winter Morning

by CLS Sandoval, PhD



BIO- CLS Sandoval, PhD (she/her) is a pushcart nominated writer and communication professor with accolades in film, academia, and creative writing who speaks, signs, acts, publishes, sings, performs, writes, paints, teaches and rarely relaxes. She’s a flash fiction and poetry editor for Dark Onus Lit. She has presented over 50 times at communication conferences, published 15 academic articles, two academic books, three full-length literary collections, three chapbooks, as well as flash and poetry pieces in several literary journals, recently including Opiate Magazine, The Journal of Magical Wonder, and A Moon of One’s Own. She is raising her daughter and dog with her husband in Alhambra, CA.


You can follow CLS Sandoval, PhD at:




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page