top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

THE SCOLDING SPARROW -by guest author Hidayat Adams





Tiny, brave brown ball of fluff,

Into my lonely heart you’ve flown.

Nestled there you have, my love,

My affection for you has truly grown.

You whistle, twitter, insistently tweet

The second I return exhausted from work.

Scolding me loudly, you demand some seed.

I feel bad; how could I have been such a jerk?

I hurry to widely cast a handful of oats.

Like light leaves, you and others descend.

Madly, you peck at the food, greedy goats!

I smile, for your antics, my soul does mend.

Blessed indeed I am that you’ve chosen me.

Tiny sparrow, your kindness has set me free.




____________________________________________________________________

The Scolding Sparrow

by Hidayat Adams




Hidayat Adams hails from Cape Town, South Africa. He’s an English teacher who has taught for more than 25 years. Hidayat serves as an English Academic Support Lecturer at the College of Cape Town, assisting students and lecturers with support material. He’s the self-published author of four short stories anthologies and a fantasy novel, “The Legend of the Hunter”. He is working on Part Two, “Belac and the Staff of Power”, and a thriller, “Goodwill”. He also writes poetry on a variety of themes. He’s an “indoor plant” who prefers to live on his own.






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page