top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

THE MORTAL STORY -Poem



My conscience on my left shoulder, temptation on the right;

Good versus evil, within a mighty fight.

The body wants pleasure, the soul, eternal life.

 The good and bad in me are always in strife.


God gives all that is good, while Satan bestows his pleasure.

Catechism and good books are how my soul will measure.

The glittery things of the world easily draw me in.

The virtue of my soul is there, but quite often is the sin.


My bodily appetites take over, my salvation on the line.

Today, I do the service; tomorrow, I give into wine.

The pits of Hell welcome me, and so does Heavenly Glory.

The battle between good and bad is the mortal story.

_________________________________________

The Mortal Story




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page