top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

SACRAMENT OF THE SICK -Poetry by guest author Kimberly Green

Updated: Oct 16, 2023



Sacrament of the sick

A cross was placed on my squad leader's head

I prayed with all my might

I wouldn’t get a cross or belly of lead tonight

So I …..


Took stock of what I had

Counted the ammo around my neck

Counted the grenades for each hand

Prayed I’d send some Nazis to their motherland


To my left and to my right

I laid prone and took sight

I inhaled and held my breath

And filled my enemy with lead


I belly-crawled thru the dead

No time to be sick or sad

If I was to live

I had to give it all I had


All around me laid the dead

As my eyes adjusted to the smoke

I looked down

To see my uniform was blood-soaked


This day ended and I survived

In the snap of fingers 40 years went by

War is hell this is true

Wait until you see what another man can do….



____________________________________________________________________

Sacrament of the Sick

By Kimberly Green









Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page