top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

ODE TO THE LAST MINUTE HOUSEKEEPER -poetry by guest author Dixie Cragun



There's company knocking at the door,

And the house, it looks a mess!

There are floors to mop and shelves to dust,

So my friends, I can impress.

I hide the dishes 'neath the sink,

Clear the table, where we'll dine.

The bathroom's BAD, so on the door,

I pin an OUT OF ORDER sign.

They're rapping, gently rapping.

"Just a minute, now!" I call

As frantically I'm scrubbing,

Jam and jelly off the wall.

Fast as lightning, err I flutter,

Changing sheets upon each bed.

Never know the 'mount of people,

Who will want to rest their heads.

At last, the house is finished.

My spirits start to soar.

"Well, hello!" I gladly beckon.

...then find the plumber at the door...





______________________________________________

Ode to the Last Minute Housekeeper

by Dixie Cragun


Dixie Cragun is a retired elementary teacher who has never stopped teaching. She volunteers to teach the art of story writing and telling. She devotes her time to her passion for family history and helping others search for their family stories.. She also enjoys painting, crafting, cardmaking, and playing music. Dixie has intertwined nature into her soul, which shows in most of her work.







Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page