top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

KATHARSIS -Poetry by guest author Enno de Witt





 

Shame left me like leaves an autumnal

tree as knowledgeable hands with icy

patience inserted a catheter, then wrapped

me in comforting soft cloths and stored

me for the night with the others in the

ward. Rest in peace! The next morning –

Oh, how I looked forward to this moment! –

a cool hand wrapped around my sex, done

a thousand times before, strictly routine,

when the procedure falters in the darkness

of my anatomy and no one knows what to do,

pulls the curtains, calls for help. That’s all I know.


__



_______________________________________

Katharsis

by Enno de Witt



Enno de Witt’s poetry is firmly rooted in a tradition that goes all the way back to the dawn of language and to his youth on the Dutch North Sea coast. De Witt lives in the medieval city of Deventer on the banks of the river IJssel in The Netherlands. His poetry is published in The Netherlands, the USA and the UK.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page