top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

I ROSE THROUGH THE HEAP -Poetry by guest author Kimberly Green




Head bent

Heart on my sleeve

The Nazis tried to steal  my life from me

 

Tossed in a ditch

Shot Left to die

Afraid to move afraid to flinch

 

Slowly ever so quietly I rose

Thru the heap of dead

I wanted to live - not find my body froze

 

I took my neighbors clothes

Corpse after corpse

In fear of being bulldozed

 

I had no idea where I was

Only that I had been shot

Only scraped- only a little blood

 

For days I laid among the dead

Warmed by bodies

Whom felt like lead

 

I clawed my way to the top

Survival was instinct

I had to live I couldn’t stop

 

The others lay as they were

Frozen by the ice

Not able to move not able to stir

 

Freeing myself from the dead- rising from the earth

Am I not human-although I am Jewish

Do I not have worth?

 

I think back to all those years ago

Those memories still are vivid

They are fresh never old

 

Yes the Nazis tried to steal my life

I survived the impossible

It is now that I can finally cry

 

***Never forget the Holocaust and the millions upon millions of human beings that were murdered by the Nazi war machine ***



________________________________________________

I Rose Through the Heap

by guest author Kimberly Green





 

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page