top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

FIRST TIMES -Poetry by guest author Lynn White

Updated: Jan 22, 2023





He forewarned me

about the eccentric landlord

who, for unspecified reasons

had permanently locked the front door

leaving a cantankerous sash window

to be the only way in or out.

A new experience, indeed!

Later, he made toast

and asked me if I liked marmite.

I’d never heard of marmite

and so I misheard ‘marmalade’.

He asked me if I liked it

spread thick or thin.

Of course I said thick.

A new experience, for sure!

Later we three went to the Grand Hotel

for afternoon tea.

It was very grand

with waiters dressed up

like penguins.

Very strange

but there’s a first time for everything!

And a last.








**************************************************************************************************************

First Time

by Lynn White


Lynn White lives in north Wales. Her work is influenced by issues of social justice and events, places and people she has known or imagined. She is especially interested in exploring the boundaries of dream, fantasy and reality. She was shortlisted in the Theatre Cloud 'War Poetry for Today' competition and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, Best of the Net and a Rhysling Award.


Follow Lynn White at:






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page