top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

DRAGON WORDS -Poetry by guest author Dixie Cragun




Magic lives within a book,

Waiting for the reader’s look.

Hidden deep within the pages,

Or tapped between their paper cages,

 

Are magical lands and creatures rare,

Cacophonous, or very fair.

I read the words and then I find,

They pain their pictures in my mind.

 

Wizards wave their magic wands.

Toothless hags trick vagabonds.

Castles slumber in the briar,

While goblins babble ‘round the fire.

 

Eccentric witches slurp bumble tea,

With raspy voices, they call to me.

“Come hither, Friend. Now don’t be shy,

Come taste our rotten apple pie!”

 

Giants with atrocious noses,

Lumber through the queen’s best roses.

Elves and fairies in the breeze,

All wait to cast their spells on me.

 

Knights ride upon their crimson saddles,

And lure my mind into their battles.

Dreadful dragons with fiery glare,

Taint, “Read me, reader, if you dare!”

 

But all is quiet on the shelf,

Till courageous readers, like, myself.

Approach the pages and believe,

And inform those dragons,

“I CAN READ!”

 

Then, oh, the tales those words can weave.




_________________________________________________________

Dragon Words

by Dixie Cragun



Dixie Cragun is a retired elementary teacher who has never stopped teaching. She volunteers to teach the art of story writing and telling. She devotes her time to her passion for family history and helping others search for their family stories.. She also enjoys painting, crafting, cardmaking, and playing music. Dixie has intertwined nature into her soul, which shows in most of her work.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page