top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE -Poetry by guest author Lynn White




I woke in the sunshine

and stretched sleepily.

That was when I saw

the hole under the tree

where a scraggy, stripy cat

had spat and snarled at me earlier.


It was too small for me to go down.

so I scraped

and scraped

to make it bigger.

A rabbit would have done better.


I found a stone

and started to dig,

dig till it was big

enough for me to go down.

Scrabbling

falling

scrabbling

falling,

looking for the end

wondering why

there was light

there

wondering

if I’m awake.

Then I saw the rabbit.




__________________________________________________________

Down The Rabbit Hole

by Lynn White


Lynn White lives in north Wales. Her work is influenced by issues of social justice and events, places and people she has known or imagined. She is especially interested in exploring the boundaries of dream, fantasy and reality. She was shortlisted in the Theatre Cloud 'War Poetry for Today' competition and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, Best of the Net and a Rhysling Award.



Follow Lynn White at:




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page