top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

COLLAGE -by guest author Mukut Borpujari



COLLAGE

1

An unexpected thundershower puts out the smoldering city, ending the heat wave abruptly

Water seeps through minute spaces between glass and window frames. Sky’s tears replace dust, leaving streaks down the walls

I have little time to stand and stare. The hills turn a vibrant green

Weekends are for my newfound love. Twice I trailed the periphery of the city to lunch beside the stream for the afternoon

Once I followed a mud track to a solitary shrine. I used the branches of the dense undergrowth to pull myself to the square opening

I hardly gawked at two magpies sitting above on electric beams. I only saw their salient backs as they took flight—my unwelcome presence forcing them into the midday sky

2

A neighbor through the wall plays classical music faint and faint over the weeks. Another learn drum-sets through a merciless repetition of top fifty alternative hits

I can pretend I’m unwell. I wouldn’t say a week mundane, shifting from invisible to see it all.

The yellow marigold bloom thro’ cracks, searching for the sun

I turn from the sense that I know myself to the sense that I had some friends who knew me well, though I didn’t know myself to them

My partner in grief hasn’t slept for days. When he finally does, he wakes up eager to tell me about his dream. A furry cat leads him to his garage where a mother shriek owl and her baby's nest



____________________________________________________________________

Collage

by Mukut Borpujari


Introduction: Mukut Borpujari is a graduate in English Literature and a Masters in Computer Application (MCA) degree holder. He started writing while he was still in college and his early writings were published in several local newspapers and magazines. Recently his poems appeared in various international literary journals and magazines, including Mount Hope Magazine of the prestigious Roger Williams University (RWU), RI, USA and New Feathers Anthology. Remington Review and Zephyr Review, Cerasus Magazine, London, UK are other major journals where his poems appeared. He is also long listed in this year's Erbacce-prize for poetry 2023.


Follow Mukut Borpujari at:




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page