top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

AS I ALLOW MY SOUL TO HEAL -Poetry

 




Beneath the mask that shields me,

Dark is my mind and soul,


Through your deception, I could not see.

          To ensnare me was your goal.

 

To the street, you have kicked me,

          -left me in the gutter to die alone.


Passed over by humanity,

          My heart has turned to stone.

 

In times of past, I gave to charity.

          By your side, worshiped in your church.


Giving love, I served with sincerity.

          While you glared at me from your perch.

 

In the collapse of a failing nation

          I tried to hold my head high


Trapped by my lowly station

          I’ve been spit on; left to die.

 

It was only when I released your hold,

          Giving my life to a higher power.


I removed the worldly blindfold

          And felt redemption that very hour.

 

Separated from needing your acceptance,

          It matters not my fate.


Ignoring your disapproving glance,

          I keep my eyes on the golden gate.

 

Beneath the mask that shields me,

          God’s love I now feel.


Releasing the hate, I am free.

          As I allow my soul to heal.


____________________________________________

As I Allow My Soul to Heal

by Stephanie Daich






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page