top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

A SIMPLE QUESTION -Poetry by guest author John Grey




Regarding this life, I didn't plan ahead

if that's what you're thinking.

It just happened. When my parents took me

home from the hospital, I couldn't think

of any other place I needed to be.

So I stayed.


I do accept by this that I'm who I am.

I don't wish to pretend otherwise.

My face suits me. So does my body.

I can't imagine my life and them

ever living apart.


But there's no such thing as choice

in the color for my eyes, the straightness

of my hair, the mouth, the nose, the ears.

They're what I was provided with.

There was no other set hanging around.


They have scientific names for it —

genes, RNA, DNA, but to me

that's all poppycock. I am a certain

combination of molecules made manifest

by repetition. And here I am, at the point

of asking you if you would like to take on

the rank improbability of my existence

and merge it, to a certain extent,

into the mere coincidence that is

your own unchangeable actuality.


What I mean to say is,

will you marry me?

In other words,

should we add our togetherness

to this series of long done deals?





_______________________________________________________

A Simple Question

John Grey



John Grey is an Australian poet and US resident who recently published in New World Writing, North Dakota Quarterly, and Lost Pilots. The latest books, ”Between Two Fires”, “Covert”, and  “Memory Outside the Head”, are available through Amazon. Work is upcoming in California Quarterly, Seventh Quarry, La Presa, and Doubly Mad.





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page