top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Daich

VALENTINE-unrequited love

Updated: May 21




RELATIONSHIP BLOOMING


The joys of relationship blooming—

Men and women being stupid—but alive

Making life worth living

The once-dying now thrive

The heart once again giving…

-unaware of the heartbreak dooming.

The thrill of new relationship beholding--

Passion overtaking—flowing

Inside and out

Seeds of hope sowing

Love and trust does sprout…

-yet the breakdown already unfolding.

The change comes in, unbeknown-

Pain swaps out happiness-cheated

Hurt, fear, and sadness

The good feelings depleted

The happy mind overtaken by madness…

The lover left alone.



HALF A TEAR


Half a heart, half a tear,

Half a year to get over,

All in the name of love;

broken, nothing left over.

"Build the wall, close the heart!

Don’t let anyone in!"

Into the valley of sorrow

because I let you in.


CHECKING YOUR HOLD


You think I am naively waiting...

You think I am contemplating...

You believe I am staring at the wall...

-Just waiting for you to call...

On the outside, I might be nice...

But trust me, my heart turned to ice...

I know your game...

People like you are all the same...

After months of no sound...

You're just calling to see if I'm around...

You're not concerned about my welfare...

You're not calling because you care...

You're only connecting now and then...

-Making sure you still have an in...

You want to check your hold...

Don't bother. My heart turned cold...


LET US GO

Let us go then, you and I,

When we can find the time.

-Like two friends chasing an adventure.

Let us go and enjoy one another,

With conversation splendid.

Of nights beneath the skies,

And days on mountain tops.

But

I don't think you'll come with me.

I don't think we were meant to be.


Let me take you past the dream,

When our hearts merge as one.

Like two friends, with years ahead.

Let us go and see the world,

With nothing holding us back,

Of nights filled with dancing.

And days blended into one.

But

I don't think you'll come with me.

I don't think we were meant to be.


Let us grow old together,

When time slows down.

Like two friends, forever bound.

Let us go and forget the world,

With eyes only on the other,

Of nights spent close together,

And days by each other's side.

But

I don't think you'll come with me.

I don't think we were meant to be.



ELECTRONIC LOVE


You made your move when you locked eyes with me at the party. You played your game. You are a player. That's what you do. I played too. That's what I do. I thought that was the end. We had fun. We went our ways.

But you texted me. You called me. -Why? There was nothing more to be gained. I stared at the phone each time you reached out, unsure what your angle was. Where were you going? It didn't make sense, but you kept connecting.

And I took the bait. Day after day, I stopped wondering why and started waiting, expecting those calls. I became like Pavlov's dog, salivating each time a notification came in.

Just when I started to depend on them, they slowed down, then stopped. You had become bored. That's what players do. They quickly tire of the game, but you stayed longer than I expected. It took a moment for me to get over, for when notifications came in that weren't you, I got dry socket instead of salivating.

I have moved on.

That's what those who get played do.



____________________________________________________________________

by Stephanie Daich








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page